About » Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan

Building on Excellence and Success Together (BEST) Strategic Planning Committee

Leadership of the Cuyahoga Heights Local Schools established the Building on Excellence and Success Together (BEST) Committee in the 2011-12 school year to re-engage the communities served by the district. For five years the BEST Committee served in an advisory capacity to the district's superintendent assisting in the fine tuning of the district's strengths and in addressing the district's opportunities for improvement.
In the spring of 2017 the BEST Committee recommended to Superintendent Tom Evans that its purpose be upgraded to a systemic and systematic strategic planning format. The purpose of this change is to align all elements of the district under one purposeful plan. In this way the BEST Strategic Planning Committee can continue to fulfill the district's beliefs, mission and vision.  
The BEST Strategic Planning Committee will focus on gaining community input and feedback to the Six Pillars of the plan: #1 Academics; #2 Safety, Security and Facilities; #3 Communication and Community Outreach; #4 Advancement of Student Opportunities; #5 Enrollment; and #6 Finances.

2021-22 Meeting Schedule Coming Soon!


BEST Strategic Planning Committee Members

  • Mandy Apathy (parent/community)
  • Brad Borowy (parent/community)
  • George Burich (director of pupil services & assistant principal)
  • Matthew Young (assistant superintendent)
  • Dawn Casey (parent/community)
  • Rick Centa (Cuyahoga Heights Village Council)
  • Michael Janatovich (CHMS/HS principal)
  • Joe Connors (student)
  • Patti Conti (CHES teacher’s assistant, parent/community)
  • Tracy Deal (CH support staff)
  • Jen Deka (parent/community)
  • Mark Dobbins (BOE member)
  • Tom Evans (superintendent)
  • Erin Graham (consultant)
  • Claire Griffith (PTO president)
  • Joey Guillaume (district school psychologist)
  • Bailey Gwynn (parent/community)
  • Joy Houchen (CHES principal)
  • Julie Jakubczak (Valley View Village Council)
  • Kara Kovitch (CHES secretary, parent/community)
  • Kyle Manfredonia (CHES teacher)
  • Amanda Mormile (parent/community)
  • Matt Muccio (treasurer)
  • Jennifer Nemeth (parent/community)
  • Eileen Pech (parent member)
  • Dave Pesicka (CHHS teacher)
  • Jennifer Presot (Brooklyn Heights Village Council)
  • Lisa Ross (parent/community)
  • Lindsay Russell (CHMS teacher)
  • Jamie Sane (parent/community)
  • Anita Schafer (parent/community)
  • Carrie Sciano (PTO treasurer)
  • Gary Suchocki (BOE)
  • Abbey Szendrey (student)
  • Patty Tommer (parent/community)
  • Erin Zink (parent/community)
  • Jim Zwisler (facilitator)